New Acquisitions and Some Weird Cover Art

It was my day off, and I had a book waiting for me at the used bookstore, so off I went.

dsc08159-copy

I have Danielle at Books, Vertigo and Tea to thank for recommending Glen Cook’s The Black Company. It’s the first in a fantasy series that I can’t remember for sure now if I started or not. Either way, I’m going to give it a shot (again?).

The other two are mysteries in one way or another. The Club Dumas  is about a book detective hired to authenticate a manuscript who is drawn into a plot involving witchcraft and the adventures of people who bear an eerie similarity to the characters in the manuscript he’s been hired to authenticate. As the sticker says, it’s the book the movie, The Ninth Gate, was based on. I didn’t like the movie very much, so I’m hoping the book is better.

The Dictionary of the Khazars is the imaginary book of knowledge of the Khazars. It eschews the traditional plot set up, involves the texts of three of the world’s major religions, and features among other people, three unruly wisemen. It’s compared to Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose, and if that’s the case I’m going to like this book.

 

While I was at the store, I found this:

dsc08150

What?

Leave a Reply

