February Sum Up

February flew by.

It feels like I didn’t read as much in February as I did in January. That’s true to a degree, but the difference wasn’t drastic. I read eleven books in January and ten books in February. Not a big difference. There was one book, The Fellowship of the Ring that I started the last week or so of January and finished on the second or third of February. Not too shabby.

I only read three of the five books I’d picked to read this month. I didn’t even open Bellefleur by Joyce Carol Oates or The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien. I feel bad about not having read Bellefleur, because I’ve had it for a long time and it just sits on the shelf. Someday, I will read it. The Two Towers is one of my March selections, as I can’t not read the full Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Excluding The Fellowship of the Ring, which I didn’t start in February, here are the books I read this month:

  1. The Martian Chronicles– Ray Bradbury
  2. Before the Awakening- Greg Rucka
  3. The Princess, the Scoundrel, and the Farm Boy– Alexandra Bracken
  4. Tales from a Galaxy Far, Far Away Vol. 1: Aliens– Landry Q. Walker, et al.
  5. Leave me Alone, I’m Reading– Maureen Corrigan
  6. Norse Mythology– Neil Gaiman
  7. Orlando– Virginia Woolf
  8. A Perilous Undertaking– Deanna Raybourn
  9. The Wars of the Roses– Alison Weir
  10. The Last Kingdom– Bernard Cornwell

Overall, an enjoyable month of reading.

My picks for March are:

  1. The Two Towers– J.R.R. Tolkien
  2. The Hunt for Vulcan- Thomas Levenson
  3. Arthur’s Britain- Leslie Alcock
  4. The Remains of the Day– Kazuo Ishiguro
  5. The Well-Educated Mind– Susan Wise Bauer

dsc08101

I’m currently in the midst of two books- All the Single Ladies: Unmarried Women and the Rise of an Independent Nation by Rebecca Traister and How Not to be Wrong: The Power of Mathematical Thinking by Jordan EllenbergBeing a single lady myself, it’s interesting to see how high a percentage of the female population has remained single throughout the years (it’s higher than you’d think) and how society and government have both welcomed and reviled single women in recent history. How Not to be Wrong is an exploration of mathematics, how people can use statistics and linear thinking to mislead the public, either unintentionally or on purpose, and how you can take a step back and ask a few simple questions to get at the truth behind the numbers.

Normally, I’d say that I’m actually looking forward to the end of winter, but it’s been so warm around here lately that it already feels like spring has come. So I guess I’ll just say that I’m looking forward to the longer days that come along with warmer weather.

Leave a Reply

