New Acquisitions, 3/27/16

I wasn’t expecting to head over to the bookstore last night, but then an NPR article popped up announcing a new book by Lyndsay Faye and I knew I’d have to go. I’ve read all her other books- Dust and Shadow, a Sherlock Holmes novel, and her Timothy Wilde books, The Gods of Gotham, Seven for a Secret, and The Fatal Flame– and loved them all.

So when I saw the NPR review describe it like this, I knew I had to have it:

DSC00588“Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye is that book. While the story’s eponymous heroine lives in Victorian England, is orphaned and sent to a boarding school and then winds up as a governess on a grand estate, her similarities to, say, Jane Eyre stop at the name. Faye hasn’t embarked on a retelling of Brontë’s masterwork, or anyone else’s, for that matter. Her novel pays homage to the greats, yet offers a heroine whose murky past and murderous present remind us that some female behavior in other eras never made it into print.”

-Bethanne Patrick

I haven’t started reading it yet, since I’m in the midst of four other books, but it’s a treat I’m looking forward to.

And speaking of treats, just look at the cover design and detail! I’m such a sucker for beautiful book covers. Especially when there’s an imprint hidden behind the dust jacket.

DSC00591After I found my copy of Jane Steele, I wandered around the clearance shelves and found another book that looks interesting- The Gravity of Birds by Tracy Guzemanwhich is a story of a painting of two sisters, and how the lives of the sisters, the painter, and an art historian intertwine after years.

I’ve never read anything by Guzeman before, so I’m looking forward to this one, too.

And last, but not least, my book club picked The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows for our next reading selection, so I picked that one up a few days ago. I’m on page 27, and so far it is fantastic! It’s told in epistolary form, through letters, and has all the quirkiness, liveliness, and wit that you would expect from a series of letters between good friends.

DSC00594

Leave a Reply

