Ex Libris

Every once in a while, I find an inscription in the used books that I buy. A lot of times, they’re things like “The Library of Jane Smith, 1998”, but others are almost a little sad. A dedication from what seems like one good friend to another that ends up in a used book shop makes you wonder what happened to the friend (or the friendship)

A few that I’ve found in my books:

“M-

Thanks for sharing your hospital visitation expertise with me.

-K”

Found in Ansel Adams in Color

 

“To J-

Celebrating the commonalities and individualities of being buddies.

With Love,
From J-”

Found in The Duino Elegies and Sonnets to Orpheus by Rainer Maria Rilke

 

And a lovely bookplate from the 1930s:

“Ex Libris

Harold E. H-”

From An Elementary Old English Grammar

 

And then there were the notes in Chinese (or maybe Japanese?) from a copy of Loren Eisley’s Immense Journey I purchased for a college class:

DSC_6192

One thought on “Ex Libris

  1. This is the reason I buy used books. I love getting a glimpse of others interpretation of what they are reading. From notes, to messages and signatures. I have a good copy of a Greek-English Lexicon from 1878 with a gorgeous signature and date. Great post!!

Leave a Reply

