Lions and Dragons and Wolves, Oh My

Was it the best idea to re-read George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire saga as I approached one of the busiest times of the year? Probably not. But it has been a wonderful escape from all the busy-ness.

Not that reading about wars and violence is an escape, per se, but at least the problems that the characters face aren’t problems I have to worry about solving. All I have to do is hope that my favorites make it out alive. So far, so good. We’ll see how things turn out whenever the next book comes out.

In other news, I’ve been reading some other, shorter books. It felt like cheating for a while, and then I realized that each of Martin’s books are around a thousand pages. So I felt better about reading the short books. Not that the short ones aren’t worth the reading- the poetry of Rainer Maria Rilke (The Duino Elegies and the Sonnets to Orpheus, and The Book of Hours), as well a Joseph Cambell’s ruminations on world mythology (Thou Art That), but they’re about 130 pages, as opposed to the normal 300-500 page books I normally read.

I have twelve books left to read to accomplish my 100 book goal.

And if you enjoy reading really hard books, try one of these. I’ve read a few of them, attempted a few others, and will probably not read most of them:

http://flavorwire.com/423424/50-incredibly-tough-books-for-extreme-readers/view-all/

Leave a Reply

