Beguile-meh

I finished reading Lois McMaster Bujold’s The Sharing Knife, book 1: Beguilement the other day.

I didn’t want to like this book.

I wanted to love this book.

I wanted to adore this book because Lois McMaster Bujold is a fantastic writer who makes her worlds come alive in a few pages, and her characters are dimensional and compelling and realistic, and my favorite similie in the history of ever comes from her book, Paladin of Souls. 

All the same, I liked the book. It was okay, but it just didn’t grab me enough that I want to seek out and read the next one. Beguilement leaves off with the main characters- Fawn and Dag- in a happy sort of place that feels enough like an ending to make a decent one, and I’m not so enthralled by said main characters that I feel like going out and searching for a book I’m not in love with.

And that’s a little sad. I love the fantasy genre, but there are so many poorly written fantasy novels out there that whenever I manage to find a new writer who stands up to my pickiness, I want all the books to be as good as the one that got me excited about the writer in the first place. and it always seems to happen that I’ll be going along, find a new series by that author, and I just don’t like it. I don’t know why. So I keep searching out new fantasy writers, always hoping I’ll find a new author and love everything they write. Thus far, Tolkien is pretty much the only one who has managed it. Maybe I’m asking too much.

 ~~~~~

Speaking of writers I love- I picked up a copy of Diane Ackerman’s Deep Play at my favorite used book store last week, so that’s what I’m working on right now, along with Great Expectations. Still. Neverwhere and a book about Leonardo da Vinci are on the nightstand, waiting, and I’m considering re-reading Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Hound of the Baskervilles (I’ve been watching a lot of BBC’s Sherlock lately), as well as re-reading George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series (starting with the second book, as I’m quite familiar with the characters, and don’t need to be re-introduced).

 

Leave a Reply

