100 Books

In December 2011, I set a funny little goal for myself for 2012. Well, it was certainly funny, but not very little. Reading one hundred books in a single year is not a particularly small task, given that one must read 8.33333333 books per month to satisfy said goal.

Sadly, I did not achieve my goal for 2012, having read “only” eighty-two books. It’s not as though I am disappointed in myself for not having finished one hundred books, but given that the Mayan Apocalypse did not, in fact, take place and we are all still here gives me the chance to try to read one hundred books in 2013.

Like anyone in love with a new idea or a New Year’s Resolution, I am enthusiastic to start. Granted, I had a lot of excitement heading into 2012 and failed to reach my goal in the end, but a new year makes for fresh starts and I have optimism to spare going into a new year.

Besides. Like a woman named Scarlet says in a book I don’t like very much, “Tomorrow is another day.”

Here is the list for the first few weeks:

The Lord of the Rings– J.R.R. Tolkien
The Silmarillion- J.R.R. Tolkien
The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrun– J.R.R. Tolkien

(If you haven’t sorted it out by now, yes, I am a Tolkien nut)

Bel Canto– Anne Patchett
The Book of Air and Shadow– Michael Gruber

And, because I own a Nook, and it’s easy to get e-books from both the library and Project Gutenburg, I read electronic books now and then. I doubt they’ll ever replace the wonderful, tangible nature of real paper books, but having a Nook allows me to have classic books, read them, and pick out my favorites to purchase in hard copy. It’s also a wonderful travel companion, since I can take dozens of books on a trip with me without having to take a whole bag of just books (or be stuck with only one book).

Thomas Becket: Warrior, Priest, Rebel– John Guy

Leave a Reply

